Testimonials, Reflections and Anniversary Dates

We encourage participation to showcase recovery in your own words. Testimonials, reflections, poems, letters of gratitude and anniversary dates are published in the Island Sun Newsletter and also on the Crossroads website. This is a great opportunity to celebrate and share your recovery experiences with others! You can submit your message and anniversary dates by contacting alumni services.

Weekly Meditation

“Let today be the day you love yourself enough to no longer just dream of a better life; let it be the day you can act upon it.”

~ Dr. Steve Maraboli

April 2014 Anniversaries

4 Months
Mitchell, Antigua

5 Months
Greg, Canada
Reynaldo, Antigua

10 Months
Minerva, CA

1 Year
Rodney, TN
Lars, NJ

14 Months
Seda, Turkey

16 Months
Laurent, United Kingdom

22 Months
Keith, PA
Christopher, NY

28 Months
Richie, Antigua

3 Years
Pamella, Antigua
Jeni-Lee, Antigua

42 Months
Phylicia

66 Months
Andrea, Antigua

6 Years
Steve, WA
Bruce, TN

8 Years
Ashley, FL

9 Years
Derrick, Antigua

10 Years
Harran, Antigua

Testimonials


Laura, MI

I learned so much at Crossroads eight years ago! I am a very grateful recovering alcoholic celebrating sobriety.

My life has never been richer – my relationships with family and friends have never been stronger – my faith and relationship with my Higher Power has never been more fulfilling. I have serenity in every aspect of my life.


Tim, UK

I am smiling as I write this looking at two of my most prized possessions a rather beaten up fist sized sea shell, painted bright orange , green, blue and silver with the words – Mental, Emotional, Physical and Spiritual scrawled on the side and a rather dull looking coin with the crossroads logo on one side and the first few lines of the serenity prayer on the other . The first was given to me by peers while in treatment; the second was given when I completed treatment.

I cannot begin to convey to you the gratitude I have in my heart for all you did for me in my early recovery. When I washed up at your door, I was a lost soul, a hopeless person tangled up in the razor wire of addiction waiting for the end.

I often contemplate what happened to me in Antigua? I think that maybe ‘miracle’ is the only word to describe it. The little random acts of kindness shown to me there, made me realise I was still human and maybe, just maybe I could make it. Crossroads gave me the gifts of hope and redemption. Needless to say I am still clean and sober thanks to some good advice I received and carried forward. I view my life as a gift now; I intend to live every minute of it free from the slavery of addiction.

One day while in Crossroads as a client, one of the female chefs was singing a beautiful song repeating -‘Lord make me over, make me over again’ I believe maybe that’s what happened to me, I was made over again.


Ashley, FL

I have been in recovery from alcoholism since I left Crossroads. My journey has consisted of many wonderful experiences, with all of the promises I was told I would receive from the very beginning, coming true. I believe these to have continued to come true because I followed the suggestions that were given to me when I left. I immediately immersed myself in Alcoholics Anonymous, getting a sponsor, working the steps, having a home group and participating in service and started a young people’s group in my area.


Zach, MD

I am still sober since the day I left Crossroads, I am overjoyed to say that in all that time it has in no way been anything but a wonderful ride.
I’ve experienced other programs but Crossroads was the only one that impacted me enough and made me realize that recovery is possible.
Again, my sincerest thank you and gratitude for the centre and staff.


Tim, IN

I am so humbled to reflect on the positive impact my experience at Crossroads has been in my life. When I returned home, I still had so much to learn about how to live a life that was happy, joyous, and free. But the hope, connections, and practical tools for living that I got from Crossroads saved my life. And now, to write to let you all know that just this week I have received my master’s degree in addictions counseling seems unbelievable!!! Talk about miracles! Of all the experiences I took home from Crossroads in regards to living a clean and sober lifestyle, I would have to say that I learned from the wonderful staff that I had permission to explore and experience my spiritual connection as it works for me.

Today, my conscious contact with God is one of contemplative prayer, interconnecting my recovery with a spiritual group of like-minded folks, and a continual gratitude for my daily reprieve that is freely given. My connection as an alumnus of Crossroads is truly a spiritual blessing to me.


David, Barbados

I am fast approaching my fourth anniversary, Crossroads Centre helped me to make the right decision and turn my life which was full of suffering and despair from addiction back on to the road of happiness, sanity and regaining the love of my family. I shall always treasure the memories of the forty-two days that I spent in your magical sanctuary which transformed me back into a loving caring human being.

Of course that did not happen by itself, but through the care and love shown by everyone there, from the astute counselors and staff who maintain those beautiful surroundings and created the many acts of magic which are performed there daily. Also of importance is the after care provided; I feel proud and honored to be an alumnus. Also very important were the many friends which I made there from all over the world and I continue to share in their joy of sobriety. We are all proud and happy for each others victories over our addictions.

I am and shall always be grateful to have experienced your oasis of peace, love, beauty and serenity which has restored my soul.

Thank you many thousand times over.


Richie, Antigua

A Life Of Darkness

There’s a man in a prison
A boy that has been left behind
He has been in that prison
For a very long time
Behind tall iron bars
But he’s not locked in there
He has been there so long
That he has grown in fear
Fear of any possible danger
That exists out there at all

He has learned to feel protected
Within those four walls
Even though it hurts
He’s ok with what he knows best
But the darkness shields him
From a clear view of himself
He’s not sure how he would look

Out there in the light
He’s not sure how the world
Would receive such a sight
He’s consumed by a desperate fear of rejection
So he created a prison in his mind called isolation
Come out little boy
Stop whistling in the dark
It’s time to take up your bed and begin to walk


Dominic, United Kingdom

Thanking everyone at Crossroads for all their support while in treatment and after leaving; it has been so helpful. Recovery is going well, getting to many meetings, working with a sponsor and building on the foundations set down while in Antigua and at The Sanctuary afterwards.

Thanks so much,


Rich, OK

Crossroads Centre, changed my life. I was able to totally stop and still do not drink or drug due to my experience and the tools that I received at Crossroads. Crossroads lit the fire for my heart to commit to and opened my eyes to see a better life.
My overall spiritual development is evolving positively every day since I started this journey.
I have been able to maintain a centered life even through a divorce and wonderful meaningful relationships with my children.
Of course, everything is not perfect but now I can handle that without resorting to my previous destructive behavior.
I am grateful to my Crossroads friends as well as those in the rooms I frequent. I know now there is a solution. I can now carry the message of a better life to others.
Gratitude to all of you who give and do so much at Crossroads for those of us who have been fortunate to enter your doors.


Craig, CA

I’m celebrating 11 years of sobriety. I thank all of you for guiding me down the path of serenity. The foundation I received at Crossroads has been my Rock for all these years.

Happy Trudging on Happy Trails,


Jeff, PA

My life had spun out of control. I knew I had to quit but this time was different.
This time I had to stay sober for the long haul. My life was at a crossroads, so where better to get the help I needed?

My expectations were clear: I wanted education about alcoholism and addiction, I wanted the space and emotional support to affirm my commitment to sobriety, I wanted to discover new insight about myself and my place in the universe, I wanted to understand AA and whether it played a role in my life going forward and I wanted to reconnect spiritually and integrate my spiritual life into my approach to sobriety. In short, I had high expectations. And they were exceeded.

In addition to getting everything I wanted, I also gained a network of lifelong support, a community of fellow seekers, a memorable experience of self and spiritual discovery and education that went well beyond my expectation of what I would learn.

Yoga Berra famously said, “When you come to the fork in the road, take it”. Well, in baseball it might not matter which way you go at the fork in the road, but in life it does matter. It matters a lot. In fact, what I know now is that the road you choose is a life and death matter. The staff at Crossroads Centre helped me affirm and deepen my choice with expertise, care, support, empathy, tough love, compassion and professionalism.

I found the entire experience, from the website and intake phone call to the after care plan and follow up, to be exceptionally well designed and executed with great care.

Your grateful alumnus,


Matthys, Netherlands

Three years clean, it’s unbelievable and I feel serene and when I’m not in a place of serenity, I have tools to work with and all of that started with your help.

Going to Crossroads Centre is without any doubt or exaggeration the best thing I did in my life. Your wonderful loving help radically changed my life. Before Crossroads I was in a horrible emotional and spiritual prison, fighting. Freedom from active addiction is what I wanted and I got more…Peace, serenity, gratitude. I am finding that more and more through working my program in Narcotics Anonymous.

Every now and then when I think back to my time with you it always brings a smile to my face, because I surrendered and gave up the fight. The experience was such a deep and profound time of change in a wonderful place with the best of help and it saved my life.

Thank you, in gratitude,


Scott, TX

I am a Crossroads alumni from November 2001 and celebrated 8 years this past fall. I have been very active in the program since my stay at crossroads and volunteered as well as working service for many local meetings in my region.

I owe Crossroads a debt of gratitude for the help I received in early recovery and it set the bar for my sobriety which I believe is very strong mainly from the tools I learned while I was going through the Crossroads program 8 years ago. Of course that was just a start, however without the foundation of the Crossroads program it would have been much harder to get a good foundation to build my recovery upon.

Thank you.


Louis, CA

I remember when I was getting ready to leave Crossroads at the beginning of December 2009 I really did not understand the importance of an aftercare program that my counselor kept suggesting to me. In retrospect, I am so grateful to my counselor for setting up the “aftercare” recommendations. I will tell you if it were not for the aftercare coming back from Antigua I doubt I would be sober today.

The aftercare program gave me a daily structure in my first month returning home and it also gave me an opportunity to really share my feelings in a safe group and the trauma I was feeling being back in the “real” world and coping with the stress of day to day pressures.

I finished their day program and now transitioned to the night program; I’ve also returned to work. I am doing the night program for three months in addition to going to 12 step meetings. I am currently averaging 4 to 5 meetings a week and working on building a sober network.

Overall, I am good and grateful to my counselor and the staff at Crossroads. If it were not for their experience, knowledge and support I doubt I would have made the progress that I have. I would strongly encourage anyone contemplating residential treatment to go to Crossroads. The level of personal care, being a small residential treatment centre and insight and experience of the counselors coupled with Crossroad’s majestic setting in Antigua gave me the courage and hope to walk through the wall of fire.


Glenn, NY

Alcohol is a product of amazing versatility.
It will remove stains from designer clothes,
It will also remove the clothes off your back.
If by chance it is used in sufficient quantity,
Alcohol will remove furniture from the home,
rugs from the floor, food from the table,
lining from the stomach, vision from the eyes,
and judgment from the mind.
Alcohol will also remove good reputations,
good jobs, good friends, happiness from children’s hearts,
sanity, freedom, spouses and relationships.
Man’s ability to adjust and live with his fellow man,
and even life itself.
As a remover of things, alcohol has no equal.


David, Barbados

Who would have thought just over 2 years ago that I would be celebrating 2 years sobriety. Thanks to God and Crossroads for that miracle. I am proud to be an alumnus of Crossroads and will always treasure what I learned, who I met and what happened to me while I had the good fortune to be there. Sometimes the road seemed long and rough, but with the encouragement, considerations and the love which from everyone there I again found the path which led to healing my wounded soul.

My time there was magical; at first I had reservations but I reasoned that it was to be either then or never and made the only correct choice. The serenity and natural beauty of the place was attenuated by those double rainbows across the bay which seemed so frequent.

This describes my journey:

C hallenge
R eflection
O penness
S earch
S urrender
R ealization
O bedience
A cceptance
D eliverance
obriety

Once again thanks to everyone there for the life changing experience I underwent.


Jeff, PA

My life had spun out of control. I knew I had to quit and I had quit before, but this time was different.

This time I had to stay sober for the long haul. All I knew as that I didn’t know enough to feel like I could do it without help. My life was at a crossroads, so where better to get the help I needed?

My expectations were clear, I wanted education about alcoholism and addiction, I wanted the space and emotional support to affirm my commitment to sobriety, I wanted to discover new insight about myself and my place in the universe, I wanted to understand AA and whether it played a role in my life going forward and I wanted to reconnect spiritually and integrate my spiritual life into my approach to sobriety. In short, I had high expectations and they were exceeded.

In addition to getting everything I wanted, I also gained a network of lifelong support, a community of fellow seekers, a memorable experience of self and spiritual discovery and education that went well beyond my expectation of what I would learn.

Yoga Berra famously said, “when you come to the fork in the road, take it”. Well, in baseball it might not matter which way you go at the fork in the road, but in life it does matter. It matters a lot. In fact, what I know now is that the road you choose is a life and death matter. The staff at Crossroads helped me affirm and deepen my choice with expertise, care, support, empathy, tough love, compassion and professionalism.

I found the entire experience, from the website and intake phone call to the after care plan and follow up, to be exceptionally well designed and executed with great care.


Mitchell, TX

Sober By the Sea

Now I’m sober by the sea
Letting God carry me
These winds of change have set me free
I’m finding peace and serenity
I found hope where two roads cross
For a heart that once was lost
I’ve learned to face reality
Now that I’m sober by the sea
I’m learning to let go and break these chains
That shackled me to loneliness and pain
Taking back a life so lost so long ago
There’s no future in a past best left alone
Now I’m sober by the sea
Living with reality
God’s grace has set me free
From life’s insanity
I found life where two roads cross
Down on my knees for those still lost
I know he’s watching over me
Now that I’m sober by the sea
I was lost but I was found where two roads meet
God took me by the hand and off the street
I cried out for help and reached into the night
And in my darkest hour I saw the light
Now I’m sober by the sea
Letting God carry me
These winds of change have set me free
I’m finding peace and serenity
I’ve found life ,where two roads cross
I pray for all the soul’s still lost
I know acceptance is the key
That’s why I’m sober by the sea
Yes God’s grace has set me free
That’s why I’m sober by the sea


Scott, NY

On December 5, 2009 I used for the last time, hopped on a flight and landed in Antigua. Looking back on that day now seems like a blur and it all happened so fast, I came crawling in through those doors, beaten and battered.

The first two weeks of my stay were miserable. My days were filled with aches and pain and I was severely suffering. I could not imagine staying for one more day.

All of a sudden on my 15th day I woke up and it felt like I noticed for the first time in my life that the sun was shining and not a cloud was in sight. My eyes were finally open and I could see the light. The veil had been lifted up off my head and it felt amazing. From that day forward I began my journey of recovery. Although it has its ups and downs I’m finally able to enjoy the little things in life- living life on life’s terms.

Amazing things happen here at crossroads and I’m living proof. I feel blessed and my sobriety is the miracle that I’ve always been waiting for. Life is an adventure, we just have to look for the signs and follow the path that God has chosen for us.


Kevin, FL

I wanted to let you know that today marks exactly 2 years since I left Crossroads with my recovery tool belt in hand. I was full of strength and hope and also some apprehension about what lay in store for me. I have lived these past 2 years one day at a time and it has been a wondrous adventure for me.

I have returned to school and will be entering the Master’s program at Florida State University’s College of Social Work in the fall. I have also gotten certified by the State of Florida as a Certified Recovery Support Specialist (CRSS) and have accumulated nearly 6,000 supervised volunteer hours at a local IOP and addiction recovery agency. I got married last August and have been performing my music at a variety of festivals all over Florida and across the country. That’s a whole lot of activity to have experienced in only 2 years of sobriety/recovery but it seems much longer. Today, I am feeling strong and healthy and my recovery is not just a part of my life and me, it defines, encompasses and is inseparable from my life and me.

The people who helped me achieve my accomplishments are too numerous to name, but my experience at Crossroads set the foundation for all that has occurred since. My thanks to everyone in the Crossroads family cannot be adequately expressed in words. Although I miss everyone tremendously, a part of me will always be their and I carry a part of Crossroads with me wherever I go. I have tried to describe my recovery many times using words and this seems to capture my feelings best: “Everyone and everything outside myself and including my own self and from within myself is other than me. My lover is this, whatever I can discover beyond myself”.

Peace and Love.


Brian, NY

It’s been 12+ months of continuous sobriety and I have been blessed by continued miracles.

I am once again working as a Firefighter/Paramedic, thanks be to God.

There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of all of you and the friends I made at Crossroads. My Crossroads medallion is glued to my bedroom wall; it’s the first thing I see when I wake up and the last I see when I go to bed. It serves as a reminder to thank God for the miracles I’ve received. ”

“…Nobody seemed to know me; Crossroads didn’t pass me by….”


Scott, TX

I am a Crossroads alumni from November 2001 and celebrated 8 years this past fall. I have been very active in the program since my stay at Crossroads and have volunteered as well as working service for many local meetings in my region.

I owe Crossroads a debt of gratitude for the help I received in early recovery and it set the bar for my sobriety which I believe is very strong mainly from the tools I learned while I was going through the Crossroads program 8 years ago. Of course that was just a start, however without the foundation of the Crossroads program it would have been much harder to get a good foundation to build my recovery upon.


Devon, Antigua

I am a living miracle, absolutely nothing short of it. After surrendering “my thinking” in favor of the thinking of recovery, I can say that almost instantaneously something happened to my attitude and commitment. I became concerned more with consequences, actions, contentment for right now, living spiritual principles in ALL my affairs, killing the ego and cleaning out life-taking defects. From my experience, applying these actions has put me, recovering alcoholic/drug addict in a position that involves gratitude and putting that behavior in motion.

I participated in the inaugural group of the Renewal Program January 18-22, 2010; talk about a blessing. The facility is comfortable, luxurious and beautiful. Next to being totally blown away that I was actually involved in this phenomenal experience was the inheritance of spiritual and emotional growth through my participation in the groups and lectures (“Spirituality” and “Recovery Revitalization”). An absolutely wonderful group which included sobriety time of up to 20 and 32 years. We opened up to each other, bonded, cried and ate together and went to meetings together. The experience was wonderful.

Meeting and growing with fellow human beings seeking a greater internalization of spirituality, gaining new information along with being reminded of the basics and their absolute importance to my continued recovery has helped me tremendously in staying grounded in what is really important to me. Becoming a better human being one day at a time, one moment at a time and one interaction at a time by applying spiritual principles in my life. And that is my “Thanks In Motion”. I am very, very grateful.


Jeffrey, FL

I am happy to report that I’m celebrating eight years of continuous sobriety.

Upon reflecting on the journey so far, the greatest thing that has come from my recovery is the ability to maintain a peaceful, loving attitude and remain aware of the feelings of others. This is a significant change in my outlook on life. Instead of living in a fearful, unhappy and secretive way, I am comfortable in my life and know that if I keep things simple and honest then there is true freedom.

It is easy to face the things that life offers from day-to-day, without the desire to dismiss what emerges.

Thank you all at Crossroads, for introducing me to the first steps of recovery. I truly put my faith in you from the moment Ashley- nurse checked me in. When I arrived in April 2003 I knew I was safe and you helped sort out the confusion and pain brought on by my disease.